Pimp your asparagus!

I don’t remember where I got the website from, but a contest called pimp your asparagus catches my full attention. From the onset I decided to work from the überclassic asperges à la Flamande, recreated using modern techniques and a slight twist in taste. And so this Saturday I started preparations for sous-vide white asparagus, sous-vide egg yolk and an instant vanilla hollandaise inspired by Daniël Humm.

Sous-vide asparagus (Modernist Cuisine) Basically following the recipe from Modernist Cuisine, I cooked half a kilo white asparagus (peeled) with 50 grams of butter and 5 grams of salt for 15 minutes at 85°C. It was slightly too salty so I think I would scale it back to 4 grams. Otherwise they were pretty much perfect.

Sous-vide egg yolks (Wylie Dufresne) Oh my God, these were perfect slices of egg heaven. Everything I’m looking for in an egg yolk and then some. In case you want to visit me in my complete euphoric trip, cook strained egg yolks at 70°C for an hour (preferable in tubular form). Another confirmation of my adoration for Wylie Dufresne.

Instant vanilla Hollandaise (Inspired by Daniel Humm) I substituted lemon juice for vinegar because I can’t stand the smell of vinegar, and I’m always very careful when cooking with it (as in, I tend to avoid it altogether by substituting other sour notes where possible). Reduce 50 grams minced shallots with 100 grams dry white wine and 5-10 grams strained lemon juice to a syrupy consistency. Measure 20 grams of this reduction. Blend together with four large egg yolks, seeds from 1-2 vanilla beans (depending on the size) and 20 grams of water, vacuum seal and cook at 65°C for half an hour. Afterwards remove the egg mixture from the bag and blend in 225 grams unsalted butter until completely emulsified. Add some salt and citric acid to taste, then transfer to a siphon. Charge with 2 N2O cartridges and shake vigorously. The original recipe says to keep it at 60°C if not used immediately, should you need this.

Plate with some parsley and white/black sesame seeds. Looks pretty tasty, no? The Hollandaise shifted the tiniest bit I think, maybe because the charger was rather cold. I’m looking into this.


One thought on “Pimp your asparagus!

Leave a Reply

